Neighborhood nesting birds

As I mentioned the other day, Melissa and I found a Greater Roadrunner nest just a block away from where we live. I found the nest completely by accident. On our walk we heard and saw a Curve-billed Thrasher (picture below) singing loudly from the top of a building over some cholla cacti. When we passed the cacti again, I peered through the thorns in to see if the thrasher was roosting. Instead, I found myself eye to eye with a roadrunner!

Yesterday we went back to get some pictures of both birds. The roadrunner nest held three white eggs. We’ll do our best to get pictures of the nestlings once they hatch.

Here are some videos of the thrasher singing.

The thrasher sings about six seconds into this next video

This entry was posted in Albuquerque birding. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Neighborhood nesting birds

  1. Thanks, Matt. I’ve seen two cactus wren and one curve-billed thrasher nest in the cholla in Embudito this year, but now you’ve got me hunting for roadrunners (saw several immatures running around there last summer).

    • Matt says:

      Good luck, I’m sure there are a lot around. If you don’t find your own and want to get a picture of a nesting roadrunner, let me know. The parents most;y sit on the nest, so I haven’t seen the nestlings too often yet. A thrasher has been singing in the same area but I haven’t seen the nest yet.

  2. T Duong says:

    I saw a roadrunner net on the tree front of my parents’ home. I saw them last week but some how they left. I checked a net and I saw 5 eggs, one egg had a little hole on it and black, four left look ok. Just wonder who I have to contact to give them four eggs?

    • Matt says:

      That’s too bad about the roadrunner eggs. The roadrunners nesting nearby to me tried multiple times to nest last year and this year, and they abandoned several of the clutches. I don’t know if anyone would want to collect the eggs. They wouldn’t be viable at this point, and many museums do not keep egg collections anymore. From my understanding of the Migratory Bird Act of 1918, it’s probably illegal to keep the eggs unless you have a permit to collect birds for scientific purposes. This is even the case for found feathers and nests, unless it is an introduced species or a game species. You could try the Museum of Southwestern Biology at UNM (http://www.msb.unm.edu/birds/contact.html), but they don’t have an egg collection.

Leave a Reply

